There’s a first time for everything

Today was the first time I’d ever leapt to the defense of one Paris Hilton, after this happened.

Here is the e-mail I sent to the Countdown team:

Dear Keith & Co.,

The Paris Hilton joke was below the belt. I’m a feminist with real job, and normally I wouldn’t give a rat’s behind about some heiress’ petty problems, but the slut-shaming needs to stop. I watch “Countdown” because I consider everyone on it to be the good guys, particularly when it comes to women’s issues. Based on the following lines, however:

“Paris Hilton claims she was punched in the face yesterday morning at a nightclub in Hollywood [pause] ‘Course she’s had worse things happen to her face …”

I am forced to assume that you are making fun of her for being in a sex video. I am also forced to assume that “worse things” = semen. Now why exactly is it better for a woman to get punched in the face than to have a man ejaculate on it during a consensual sex act?

We ought to stop tying sexual pleasure to humiliation. And “Countdown” can lead the way.

Best wishes,
Natalia Antonova.

Durham, North Carolina.

Sure, I feel a bit ridiculous. But in a good way. As ridiculous as the captain of Serenity, when he goes about rescuing his courtesan friend while in drag.

2 thoughts on “There’s a first time for everything

Leave a comment